Wednesday, November 28, 2007

Guest Mix #3 Ilija Rudman (No Strings Attached + Time Stand Still)

You know you're doing something right when Greg Wilson's knocking at your door. "He Approached me on Myspace a few months ago," recalls Croatian producer Ilija Rudman, "because he was into what he was hearing."

Although's he's been actively making music for almost a decade. The late 20's producer's really come into is own in 2007 with releases on Deep Freeze, Infant and Rong Music, successful studio ventures with Phonique and Spirit Catcher ("Night Vision" and "Inside (Good Idea)" respectly)and a deliciously deep disco-house cut "After Midnight" for Love Is War Music, the new label headed up by 1Gnition's Marcus J Knight.

Ilija's funk, analogue-heavy sound will appeal if Norwegian Balearik or 2020's electronic house rings your bell. But why's it happening now? Simple... "I've been collecting the original tools that the producers 20 years ago using to get that authentic electro-disco funk sound. So the tracks i make with this setup today, better things start to happen."

As well as engaging in more collaborations than your average rap superstar, he's stepping up the place at his own label, Red Music, the "eclectic disco" imprint he set up in 2003, with releases planned every month. So what can we expect to hear when he gets together with Greg wilson? "We're working on some re-edits but we're also making some original music as The Barbarella. It's the freshest thing i'm doing. This is something for the next year so maybe it's too early to talk about this, however."

Thanks Ilija for this lovely mixes, and for your symphaty.

(No Strings Attached)

01. 'Slow To Speak' - You Should Have Known Better
02. Colonel Abrams - The Truth (Instrumental)
03. Toney Lee - Reach Up (Dub Mix)
04. Midnight Star - Operator (Edit)
05. Paul Hardcastle - Fly By Night
06. David Joseph - Nite People (Instrumental)
07. LakeSide - RelationShip (Edit)
08. David Joseph - You Can't Hide
09. Willie Colon - Set Fire To Me
10. Visual - The Music Got Me (Instrumental)

Guest Mix #3 Ilija Rudman (No Strings Attached)

(Time Stands Still)

01. Feel - Let's Rock (Instrumental + Vocal Edit)
02. Feel - I'd Like To (Instrumental)
03. Toney Lee - Love So Deep (Instrumental Edit)
04. Class Action - Weekend (Instrumental Edit)
05. Mouzon's Electric Band - Everybody Get Down
06. Gino Soccio - Who Dunnit (Edit)
07. Touche - Wrap It Up
08. Michael Mauro - Talk To Me (Drum Loop Edit)
09. Colors - Am I Gonna Be The One (Instrumental Version)
10. Freda Payne – In Motion (Instrumental)

Guest Mix #3 Ilija Rudman (Time Stands Still)


Saturday, November 24, 2007

Magic Fly

Space is a French electronic music band, one of the most notable artists of the short lived Space Disco music scene (a variation of Hi-NRG Disco and part of 70's Eurodisco).

Space was founded in 1977 by Didier Marouani (also known as Ecama). The first three albums — Magic Fly, Deliverance and Just Blue — were an immediate and staggering success (they sold over 12 million records all over the world).
The album Magic Fly, which is widely considered to be their best work, was released in audio cd in 2001, 24 years after its original release. Although Didier Marouani left the band in 1979, the other two members Roland Romanelli and Jannick Top released in 1980 the album Deeper Zone under the name of Space. Then Space officially collapsed in 1981.

Space - Magic Fly (Echos From Other Space Edit By SDC)

Saturday, November 10, 2007


"Peg" is a song by rock group Steely Dan (formed by Donald Fagen and Walter Becker), which was released as a single from their 1977 album Aja.

The guitar solo on the track was attempted by seven top session guitarists before Jay Graydon's version became the "keeper". Rick Marotta played drums on the track; and the distinctive whistling sound in the intro is Tom Scott playing the lyricon, a type of electronic wind instrument.

The song describes a young female in a questionnable debut scene or photo shoot. She is warned that those images may "Come back to [her]". Note the playful reference to mid-20th century cinema and perhaps less-than-savory Times Square movie houses or magazines in the chorus: "you see it all," then quietly "in 3-D!"

The version on this post is a intrumental edit of "Peg", included in the record "Community Service" [CS-1].

Wednesday, November 7, 2007

(AVI) Part 6

Lowrell Simon (born March 18, 1943 in Chicago) is an American soul singer. He began as a singer in The LaVondells, which became The Vondells and enjoyed some regional success in the 1960s with the song "Lenore". When the Vondells broke up, Simon formed the group The Lost Generation alongside several Chicago friends, and the group scored several US hits between 1969 and 1974. After the band's breakup, Simon made contributions to the soundtrack to the 1974 film "Three the Hard Way", and wrote tracks for the 1976 debut album of Mystique, which featured other former members of The Lost Generation. He also wrote the tune "Dance Master" in 1974 for Willie Henderson and the 1979 tune "All about the Paper" for Loleatta Holloway.

In the late 1970s, Lowrell Simon began recording under only his first name. He signed to Liberace's label, AVI Records, and released an album in late 1979 entitled Lowrell. The album's second single, "Mellow Mellow Right On" b/w "You're Playing Dirty", was a #32 US R&B hit that year. The song has been sampled copiously, including by Massive Attack, Imagination and Common.

AVI Part 6
Lp "Lowrell " [AVI 6070] (1979)
12' "Mellow Mellow Right On" [AVISL 108] (1979)

Tuesday, November 6, 2007

Sound Of Silver

For a future-disco hero, LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy is unusually self-conscious. Before you hear a single kick-drum sample on his excellent second album, Murphy seems to be intentionally setting the bar low, giving the massive, clattering dance-floor killer that opens the disc the awesomely pathetic title of "Get Innocuous."

The first LCD track, 2002's "Losing My Edge," was an anthem for aging hipsters everywhere; Silver's first single, "North American Scum," is about the existential crisis of being American at this particular historical moment. Even though it's difficult to imagine Murphy ever exhorting, "Everybody dance now," musically he owes a huge debt to house-music masters like Clivilles and Cole. Putting aside the world-weary Bowie-meets-Byrne vocals, the bulk of the tracks -- "Innocuous," "Us v Them," "Sound of Silver" -- could be lost late-Eighties dance classics. But somehow it all holds together as an album (the New Wave-y tunes "Someone Great" and "All My Friends" help), and by the end, ex-indie-rocker Murphy comes full circle, returning to his roots with the Pavement-meets-Morrissey comic lament "New York I Love You but You're Bringing Me Down."

Friday, November 2, 2007

Sample Pleasures

Part Two of the bestselling Sample Pleasures series and Number 5 on the label. The Popular People's Front continue their sonic manifesto, combining samples in a classic style with 21st century tools, to craft another selection of heavyweight retro grooves & modern basement workouts to Soulpsychedelisize your party Focusing on less well known, but no less legendary tracks from the last days of Disco, Italo workouts, Hip Hop and stripped back modern jams, retranslating them into dancefloor smashing sample collages. New Artists Fat Camp & Gilen Nadlie contribute alongside the PPF boss man and Artwork Supremo Leozero.